About Us

ASN Staff

In 1984, the founders of the Access Support Network (ASN) witnessed an urgent need in the community to provide advocacy and support for people living with HIV/AIDS. From then on, the ASN has grown and adapted to the community's unique needs. In 2001, the SLO Hep C Project was developed, offering support for community members living with hepatitis C. In 2014, the ASN became the first Covered California-certified enrollment entity in San Luis Obispo, helping to ensure that the community had access to affordable health insurance programs. That is one of the ASN's most fundamental principles: to strive to meet the unmet needs of our surrounding communities. 

 

As of July 1, 2015, the ASN has expanded into Monterey County to offer much-needed services and connections to life-sustaining programs that guard against homelessness and medication and healthcare coverage lapses. The ASN's strength as an organization and ability to step into Monterey County is a direct result of the incredible support they have experienced in their 31 years in SLO County. The staff and Board feel that expanding into Monterey County is just as important a step towards their future as they did when they expanded to include critical hepatitis C programs. HIV/AIDS doesn't stop at the county line, and the Access Support Network is grateful to have the capacity to continue as the new ASN and provide access and support where needed.

 

The ASN staff works closely with a large pool of dedicated volunteers in coordinating client services and agency fundraising events and has built lasting partnerships with other non-profits in our community.

 

The ASN remains the sole community-based, a non-profit organization in San Luis Obispo and Monterey Counties that provides supportive services to residents living with HIV/AIDS and Hep C and their loved ones. The agency strives to improve its clients' quality of life and independence by providing support individually.

 

 

 

Our Mission: The ASN saves and enhances the lives of people in our community impacted by HIV and Hep C. We provide access to comprehensive critical services that empower our clients.

The ASN receives funding from a variety of sources, such as:

  • San Luis Obispo County

  • Monterey County Public Health Department

  • Santa Barbara County Public Health Department

  • The City of San Luis Obispo

  • FEMA Emergency Food and Shelter Program

  • The Ryan White HIV CARE Act

  • Housing Opportunities for People With AIDS (HOPWA)

  • Broadway Cares - Equity Fights AIDS

  • Annual fundraising events

  • Corporate and private donations

  • MAC AIDS Fund

  • Community Foundation of Monterey County

  • Community Action Partnership Monterey County​

  • Community Foundation of San Luis Obispo

  • Monterey Peninsula Foundation

  • Harden Foundation

  • Madsen Foundation​

  • Sierra Health Foundation 

  • Gilead 

David Kilburn
Executive Director
Anna Hazlett
Executive & Finance Support

ahazlett@asn.org
Elena Salias
Compliance & Program Development Manager
Richard Hossli
Co-Coordinator of Finance & Grant Development

rhossli@asn.org
Karla Quiroga
San Luis Obispo Co. Program Manager​
kquiroga@asn.org
Ana Marquez
Hep C Patient Navigator
amarquez@asn.org
Ashley Erden
HIV Patient Navigator
aerden@asn.org
Jessica Hope
HIV Patient Navigator
jhope@asn.org
Daryin Rodriguez CPT1
Testing Coordinator / Phlebotomist 
drodriguez@asn.org
Oriana Nolan
Monterey County Hep C Project Coordinator
onolan@asn.org
Grace Vasquez
Patient Navigator Housing Case Manager
gvasquez@asn.org
Blanca Barron
Case Manager/ADAP Enrollment
bblanca@asn.org
Christina Elvin CPT1
Harm Reduction / Overdose Prevention 
Coordinator / Phlebotomist
celvin@asn.org
Sandy Anderson
Patient Navigator
sanderson@asn.org
Daniel Larios
Housing Case Manager
dlarios@asn.org
Katherine Varin RN
HCV Nurse Case Manager
kvarin@asn.org
Donna Jones RN
AIDS MediCal Waiver Nurse Case Manager
djones@asn.org
Tina Hunter
MOUD Patient Navigator
thunter@asn.org
Austin Kava
Community Response Team Navigator
akava@asn.org
Justin Sampaolo
Community Response Team Navigator
jsampaolo@asn.org
Miranda Martinez
Community Response Team Navigator
mmartinez@asn.org
Board of Directors

President, Lisa Dean, Account Administrator, Mosaic Business Services 
Treasurer, Ron Pigeon, Community Member
Secretary, Valerie Endres, Community Member
 
Mario Espinoza-Kulick Ph.D., Health Equity Policy Manager, Future Leaders of America
Thomas Muir, Social Worker, CHOMP Hospital
Deborah Stewart, M.D., Door to Hope
Kathleen Guerrero, LCSW

Access Support Network

 

San Luis Obispo County Address:

1320 Nipomo Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

(805) 781-3660

 

Monterey County Addresses:

223 John St.                                           Ryan Ranch 
Salinas, CA 93901                                  2 Upper Ragsdale Dr. Building A

(831) 975-5016                                       Monterey, CA 93940

                                                                   (831) 625-4699

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 12158

San Luis Obispo, CA 93406


Toll Free: (800) 491-9141
Fax: (805) 781-3664

Additional Info

Contact Info

Patricia Walker
Patient Navigator
pwalker@asn.org
Emily Meena
Co-Coordinator of Finance and Grant Development 

emeena@asn.org